Mood Boards for decorating

 

publication9I thought I’d share some mood boards with you that I created for a client, one of my family room, and some helpful tips to creating virtual mood boards of your own.

Mood boards are a very helpful tool for clients who are not sure what they envision their space becoming or how to get started.  The virtual mood board will give the client a sense of what the finished space will look like and gives a clear direction for what pieces may need to be purchased to complete the room.  Also, the mood board is a great time saver that allows the client to see pieces in their space without committing to buying first.

The website I found most user friendly was Olioboard.  Honestly, the website is pretty self explanatory but I’ll share what I found helpful.  (I’m using the free version which limits some options but I found it sufficient for my needs).

family-room-mood-board

You will need to create a user name and password to get started.  Once you are logged in click +Create button at the top menu bar.  From that point on, I started using the My Items tab to upload images that I had already saved to my computer.  Once I had uploaded all the images I needed for my board I started dragging and dropping onto the board.  The item will show up on the board with a circular navigator to rotate and enlarge or shrink the item.  Pull the navigator in to shrink and out to enlarge.  Other helpful tools that I used often were the Background: Remove button along with the advanced options (which you can just play with), the duplicate button, the flip and flop buttons, and the bring to back and to front options.  The more you play with the tools the easier they become!

As you can see, mood boards can be done by placing items strategically where they may go in a room or presenting items as a list of options.  I use both looks!

Links to items in Playroom Mood Board:

1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 /

 

Links to items in Family Room:

1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8 / 9 / 10 / 11 / 12 / 13 / 14 / 15 / 16

 

Leave a Reply

